Marijuana is decriminalized in Colorado, but that doesn’t mean that anyone can do whatever they want with it in this state. Anyone who’s interested in using marijuana should ensure they understand exactly what’s allowed and what’s not.
One specific point to remember is that marijuana must be purchased by someone who’s at least 21 years old or grown at home. It can only be legally purchased from a licensed retailer.
There are limits to how much marijuana you can buy, possess or give to other adults who are at least 21 years old. You can only purchase up to 1 ounce of marijuana at a time and possess up to 2 ounces at a time. You’re allowed to share up to 2 ounces at a time with another adult as long as they’re 21 or older.
Public use is forbidden
Even though you can use marijuana in the comfort of your home, you can’t use it in public. If you’re on private property, it’s up to the property owner to determine if marijuana use is allowable. One area where it’s always forbidden to use marijuana is on federal lands.
Employers can test for marijuana
Employers in Colorado are still able to test for marijuana before hiring you. They can also test for it throughout your employment. These policies should be clearly stated to employees.
Failing to comply with any of the laws regarding marijuana can result in criminal charges. This can significantly impact your future. If you’re facing marijuana-related charges, you must ensure you understand your options. Working with someone who can help you determine how to set your defense strategy.