Exclusive Criminal
Defense Representation
For Over 42 Years

Colorado still has many restrictions on marijuana use

On Behalf of | Jun 16, 2023 | Drug & Marijuana Charges

In some states, marijuana is still illegal and could lead to strict jail sentences and fines. In other states, like Colorado, the laws have been changed. Marijuana has been legalized for recreational use.

This does mean that people in Colorado have far fewer restrictions than those in a state like Alabama. But it doesn’t mean that there aren’t any restrictions at all. It’s important for Colorado residents to know what they are. Below are a few examples.

You must be 21

For example, someone who purchases recreational marijuana has to be 21 years old. This is also true for use. Even someone who obtains marijuana without making the purchase themselves – if they grow it, for instance – has to be 21 years old in order to possess or use that product.

Selling can only be done at dispensaries

Additionally, marijuana sales may be legal, but only at dispensaries that have been properly set up with the government. In fact, someone else who decides to sell their own marijuana could be in danger of facing felony charges if the person they’re selling to is under 21 years old.

You still can’t drive

As with alcohol, driving while under the influence of marijuana is prohibited. Drivers who are high can still be given impaired driving charges. In some cases, this can be a bit more complicated than an alcohol-related arrest, because marijuana will still show up on a drug test for weeks after it has been used.

What options do you have after an arrest?

Are you facing charges for some element of marijuana use in Colorado? If so, be sure you know exactly what legal defense options you have.