Colorado is well known for being the first state to legalize marijuana. That was roughly 10 years ago, and it sparked a trend across the United States. Now, almost half of U.S. states have legal recreational marijuana, and many more have medical marijuana options. There are still a few holdouts, but it is slowly spreading.
This sometimes leads people to believe that they can’t be arrested for marijuana when they’re in Colorado. Is that accurate? Or are there still ways that you can break the law? Here are three:
1. Illegal sales
For one thing, it’s important to note that marijuana is a legal substance, but only when it is sold at a dispensary. Personal sales are still not permitted. So someone who buys a large amount of product and tries to sell it on their own, without the proper licensing and registration from the state, could face legal charges.
2. Underage sales
Another thing to remember is that you have to be 21 years old to buy, possess or use marijuana. Someone who is underage could face arrest, even though the product itself is legal in the state.
3. Purchasing too much
Finally, it’s important to remember that recreational patients are only allowed to purchase one ounce of marijuana. They could also purchase products with 800 mg of THC. That could include edibles, for example. So someone could be purchasing legal products, but they could simply buy too much and be in violation of the law.
Regardless, it’s clear that you can still be arrested on marijuana charges in Colorado. Be sure you know what legal options you have if this happens to you.