Colorado defines theft as a defendant who “knowingly obtains, retains or controls” an item “without authorization or by threat or deception.” Crimes are charged based on the type of property stolen, its value, and other factors. Individuals who face theft charges should understand how the state defines and penalizes this crime.
Review the basics about various types of Colorado theft charges.
Terms to know
Theft charges apply to depriving someone else of either movable or immovable property. The offender can transport movable property to another location, while immovable property refers to real estate and other static items.
A person can receive theft charges in Colorado for failing to return lost property to its owner, extorting property from someone by threatening criminal action or committing theft of services, or theft by deception.
Levels of theft
Theft in the state generally constitutes the following:
- Class 1 Petty Offense for amounts less than $50
- Class 3 misdemeanor for amounts from $50 to $300
- Class 2 misdemeanor for amounts between $300 and $750
- Class 1 misdemeanor for amounts between $750 and $2,000
Some offenders may receive felony charges for theft of $2,000 and more, ranging from Class 6 felony charges punishable by up to 1.5 years in prison and up to $100,000 in fines to Class 2 felony charges over $1 million, resulting in a 24-year prison sentence and up to $1 million in fines
First-degree felonies are charged for theft of over $500,000 and those accused of trading stolen weapons.
Accusations of theft crimes carry serious consequences, requiring the help of a skilled and experienced attorney with a comprehensive knowledge of these serious criminal charges.